TAG - The Actors’ Group fills a unique niche in Honolulu’s theatre community by staging productions in an intimate setting with a passion and commitment to excellence and diversity.  TAG - The Actors' Group is a public charity as outlined in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Shop at smile.amazon.com and AmazonSmile donates to The Actors' Group at no cost to you! 
Via PayPal
2003 - 2008 Kaka`ako
2003 - 2004
This is the season the August Wilson plays began

15 nominations - 7 Po`okela Awards           
Overall Play
The Trip to Bountiful
Two Trains Running
Director of a Play
Sharon Adair -The Trip to Bountiful
Leading Male in a Play
Jim Tharp ~ On Golden Pond

Leading Female in a Play
Jo Pruden ~ The Trip to Bountiful
Featured Male in a Play

Moses Goods III ~ Two Trains Running

Two Trains Running
The Sunshine Boys
directed by Glenn Cannon
Associate Director Coco Wiel
June 2 - July 4, 2004
Glenn Cannon, Mane, Jennifer Sur, Lauren Murata, David Farmer, Sam Polson, Larry Fukumoto

The Trip to Bountiful 
by Horton Foote 
directed by Sharon Adair
March 17 - April 18, 2004
Jo Pruden & Rasa Fournier 
(Also Patrick Casey, Holly Holowach, Patrick Albergo, Ryan Calder, Melissa Richardson, Jay Hebrank, Jeannette Roberts, Rachel Schack, Carole Cooper, Billy Shackley, 
Sam Polson

Two Trains Running 
by August Wilson 
The Honolulu African American Repertory Theater 
directed by Leonard Piggee 
January 7 - February 8, 2004
Russ Goode, Donna Sallee, Derrick Brown
(Also Honey Brown, Gemini Burke, Moses Goods, Leonard Piggee, Adelina Gregor)

The Guys
by Anne Nelson 
directed by Brad Powell 
August 27 - September 28, 2003
Eric Nemoto & Frankie Enos
Ten Million Reawakenings 
by Richard Caulfeild Goodman 
(suggested by a story from Lafcadio Hearn) 
Contributions By Eric Nemoto & Brad Powell
directed by Brad Powell
November 12 - December 7, 2003
Eric Nemoto & Shaula Voge

2004 - 2005
No Po`okela Awards this year
Bullshot Crummond
By Alan Sherman 
Directed by Dennis Proulx
October 6 - November 7, 2004
Melanie Garcia, Shane Garcia, Jared Jeffries, Mark Miller, Jennifer Robideau

By Samuel Beckett
Directed by Liz Kane
July 28 - August 29, 2004
Bill Carr, Laurie Tanoura, 
Ed Pickard, Tim Dyke

A Raisin in the Sun
By Lorraine Hansberry
Directed by Brad Powell
January 7 - February 13, 2005
Lillian Jones, Trevor Graham, Anette, Kauahikaua, Della Graham, Charles Clardy III

Tiramisu On the Beach
By Eric Nemoto & Jon Brekke
Directed by Jon Brekke
April 29, 30, May 1, 5, 7, 8, 2005
Eric Nemoto, James McCarthy, Dorothy Stamp

By Michael Frayn
Directed by David Schaeffer
March 16 - April 17, 2005
Richard McPherson, Frankie Enos, David Schaeffer

2005 - 2006
​​11 Po`okela Awards
Overall Play
Joe Turner's Come and Gone
The Goat or Who is Sylvia

Featured Male in a Play 
Derrick Brown, Joe Turner's Come & Gone
Curtis Duncan, Joe Turner's Come & Gone
Thomas C. Smith, The Goat or Who Is Sylvia

Featured Female in a Play

Dusty Behner, Boston Marriage
​​Leading Female in a Play
Betty Burdick, Boston Marriage
Victoria Gail-White, The Goat or Who Is Sylvia
Susan Park, Betrayal

Costume Design

Carlynn Wolfe and Rose Wolfe, Joe Turner's Come & Gone

Set Design

Andrew Doan, The Goat or Who Is Sylvia
By Harold Pinter
Directed by Liz Kane
March 29 - April 16, 2006
Susan Park, Peter Ruocco, Curtis Duncan, S. Rick Crump

Boston Marriage
By David Mamet
Directed by David Schaeffer
August 5 - 28, 2005
Betty Burdick, Kristin Van Bodegraven, Clara Dalzell, Dusty Behner

P.S. Your Cat is Dead
By James Kirkwood
Directed by Dennis Proulx
October 12 - 30, 2005
Deneb Catalan, Kris DeRego, Kimberly Bridges, Alan Mueting

Joe Turner’s Come and Gone
By August Wilson
Directed by Russell Motter
January 6 - February 5, 2006
Shiiwanni Johnson, Derrick Brown, Charles W. Clardy III
(Also Jim Andrews, Curtis Duncan, Savada Gilmore, Jeanne Herring, Anette Kauahikaua, Martin Monahan, Deneen, Thompson, Deborah Young)

The Goat 
or Who is Sylvia
By Edward Albee
Directed by David Farmer
May 24 - June 11, 2006
Thomas Smith, Victoria Gail-White, 
John Wythe White

2006 - 2007
​​10 Po`okela Awards
Overall Play


Derrick Brown, Jitney

Leading  Male 
Jim Andrews, Jitney

Featured Male 

Derrick Brown, Jitney
F. Quentin Collins, Jitney
​​Leading Female in a Play
Elizabeth Wolfe, Antigone

Becky Maltby, Sylvia

Featured Female

Frankie Enos, Our Town
Euphrosyne V.E. Rushforth, Sylvia


Cast of Our Town
By A. R. Gurney
Directed by Brother Gary Morris
July 13 - August 13, 2006
Becky Maltby, Tom Holowach, Euphrosyne "Frosty" Rushforth, Derrick Calibre

Our Town
By Thornton Wilder
Directed by David Schaeffer
September 14 - Occtober 15, 2006
Terri Seeborg, Carlynn Wolfe, Dave Schaeffer, Jim Hesse, Vivian Hignite, Savada Gilmore, Frankie Enos, Gerlad Altwies, Thomas Tochiki

By Patrick Meyers
Directed by Dennis Proulx
November 16 - December 17, 2006
Eric Nemoto, Wil Kahele

To U.S. with Aloha and Mabuhay
By Virgilio Felipe
Directed by David Farmer
October 13-15, 20-23, 2006

By David Mamet
Directed by David Farmer
April - May, 2007
Larry Fukumoto, D. Omar Williams, S. Rick Crump, Thomas Smith
Stu Hirayama, Kevin Agtarap, Maseeh Ganjali

By August Wilson
Directed by Derrick Brown
February 1 - March 4, 2007
Billy Hall, Jim Andrews
(Also Christopher Smiith, Gregory Haarris, Raymond Griffin Jr, Kesha Diodato, Derrick Brown, F. Quentin Collins)

From Penicillin To Po’okelas
Written & Directed By Eric Nemoto
(a TAG fundraising retrospective)
April 17, 18, 24, 25, 2007

By Jean Anouilh
Directed by David Schaeffer
June 22 - July 16, 2007
Ariane Fuchs, Elizabeth Wolfe, Alorah Kwock, Jenny Logico
(Also Jaames Llocke, Elizabeth May, Robert St. John, Thomas Tochiki, Jennifer Torrijos, Adam Trecker)

2007 - 2008
​​15 Po`okela Awards
Overall Play
Merry Christmas Roberta


Brad Powell, The Baltimore Waltz
Brad Powell, Mass Appeal

Leading  Male 
Gary Morris, Mass Appeal

Jim Aina, Shadowlands
Peter Clark, Reunion

Featured Male 

Curtis Duncan, Fences
Sam Polson, Shadowlands
Blaze Mancillas, Mass Appeal

​​Leading Female 
Wendy Pearson, Fences
Hoku Gilbert,  A Kind of Alaska

Featured Female

Laurie Tanoura, Merry Christmas Roberta

Set Design

Laurie Tanoura, The Baltimore Waltz

Sound Design
Richard Valasek, The Baltimore Waltz

Merry Christmas, Roberta
(A Chinatown Tale)
By Eric Nemoto & Jon Brekke
Directed by Jon Brekke & Michael Wurth
Adapted For The Stage By Michael Wurth
December 14 - January 6, 2008
Amber Hazelwood, Laurie Tanoura
(Also, Eric Nemoto, Ona Marie, Louis Donato, 
Stephanie Kuroda, Charlotte Dias)

The Baltimore Waltz
By Paula Vogel
Directed by Brad Powell
August 24—September 23, 2007
Karen Valasek, Jacin Harter, Josh Harris, Jaren Maluyo

By August Wilson
Directed by Derrick Brown
November 2 - 25, 2007
Wendy Pearson, Derrick Brown, Savada Gilmore, Christopher Smith, Curtis Duncan, Safari Jones

Dream Saviour
written and directed by Eric Nemoto
Based on a Story by Jeff Katts
September 25, 26, 2007
Thomas Smith, Brandon Sutherlin, Gretchen Nilsen, Sam Polson, Curtis Duncan, Robert Stevens, Elizabeth May

By David Mamet
Laura Bach Buzzell, Peter Clark

Mass Appeal
By Bill C. Davis
Directed by Brad Powell
January 25 - February 24, 2008
Brother Gary Morris, Blaze Mancillas

By William Nicholson
Directed by Melinda Maltby
April 18 - May 8, 2008
Mike Malone, Rick Murakami, Dave Albert, Sam Polson, Jim Aina, Hannah Schauer Galli,  S. Rick Crump, Risa Abellira, Theresa Shelby, Chad Williiams, Mickey Graue, Jimmy Davis

A Kind Of Alaska
By Harold Pinter
John Wythe White, Hoku Gilbert

Two Short Plays
Directed by David Farmer
June 13 - July 13, 2008

Click to go to the next page
It's time to move to Chinatown!